Vultr Review

The widest stated datacenter footprint (33 regions) at an aggressively low entry price.

5.0/10
Fair
Visit Vultr

Vultr's cheapest usable-for-most instance is $3.50/mo (1 vCPU, 0.5GB RAM, 10GB storage, IPv4) — an even cheaper $2.50/mo variant exists but is explicitly IPv6-only. Vultr states 33 cloud datacenter regions on its pricing page, the largest count of any provider we checked.

DDoS protection is explicitly a paid add-on ($10/mo per instance) rather than included, and the entry-tier "Regular Performance" line uses standard SSD — NVMe SSD is reserved for its pricier "High Performance" instance family.

Specs, as published by Vultr

Price$3.50/mo — Regular Performance, 1 vCPU / 0.5GB RAM / 10GB SSD, 0.5TB bandwidth, IPv4 included. A $2.50/mo variant with identical specs exists but is IPv6-only.
vCPUs / RAM1 vCPU / 0.5GB RAM
Storage10GB SSD (non-NVMe at this tier)
Free trial creditNot stated
Root accessNot stated
DDoS protectionNot stated
Datacenter locations33 cloud datacenter regions — the largest stated count in this comparison
Sourced from the provider's own published site, confirmed September 2026. Not independent testing.

Pros

  • Largest stated datacenter footprint (33 regions) in this comparison
  • Very low entry price with fine-grained hourly billing
  • A separate "High Performance" NVMe line available for workloads that need it
  • IPv6-only ultra-budget tier for use cases that don't need IPv4

Cons

  • DDoS protection is a paid $10/mo add-on, not included
  • No free trial credit advertised on the pricing page itself
  • Entry-tier storage is standard SSD, not NVMe — NVMe requires the pricier High Performance line
  • Root access isn't explicitly stated as a pricing-page feature

Best for: Users who want the widest choice of datacenter locations and are comfortable paying extra for DDoS protection if needed

Prices, plans, and features on this page are set by each provider and can change without notice — what's shown here reflects what was confirmed as of the date noted per provider, not necessarily today's live pricing. Always verify current details on the provider's own site before purchasing.