OVHcloud Review
DDoS protection and automatic backups bundled free into every tier, with NVMe storage throughout.
OVHcloud's entry Local Zone VPS-1 plan bundles 2 vCPU, 4GB RAM, and 40GB NVMe SSD at $4.54/mo — and unlike every other provider in this comparison, includes anti-DDoS protection and automatic backups by default at no extra charge, confirmed directly in OVHcloud's own page text.
The tradeoff is that OVHcloud's page doesn't state a specific count of datacenter locations, just referencing "worldwide" availability with a few named cities in context.
Specs, as published by OVHcloud
| Price | $4.54/mo — Local Zone VPS-1, 2 vCPU / 4GB RAM / 40GB NVMe SSD. OVHcloud's own page states: "Our Local Zone VPS includes anti-DDoS protection and Standard automatic backup by default." |
| vCPUs / RAM | 2 vCPU / 4GB RAM |
| Storage | 40GB NVMe SSD |
| Free trial credit | Not stated |
| Root access | Yes |
| DDoS protection | Yes |
| Datacenter locations | Not stated as a specific count — page references "worldwide" availability with select cities (Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney) named in context |
Pros
- DDoS protection included free by default — most competitors here charge separately or don't offer it
- Automatic backups also included by default
- NVMe SSD storage even at the cheapest tier
- More RAM (4GB) and vCPUs (2) at the entry price than most competitors' cheapest plan
Cons
- No specific datacenter location count stated on the pricing page
- No free trial credit advertised
- Less brand recognition in this space than DigitalOcean or Linode
Best for: Anyone who wants DDoS protection and backups included by default without paying extra or configuring them separately
Prices, plans, and features on this page are set by each provider and can change without notice — what's shown here reflects what was confirmed as of the date noted per provider, not necessarily today's live pricing. Always verify current details on the provider's own site before purchasing.