Linode (Akamai Connected Cloud) Review
A broad global footprint and on-demand GPU instances, backed by Akamai.
Linode (now Akamai Connected Cloud) starts its Nanode tier at $5/mo for a full 1 vCPU / 1GB RAM / 25GB SSD instance, and confirms a $100 signup credit directly on its pricing page. Its named datacenter footprint spans roughly 25 locations across North America, Europe, APAC, and South America.
On-demand GPU instances (from $0.52/hr) are available on the same pricing page as standard compute — a rarity at this price point — but the page states neither explicit root-access nor bundled DDoS protection as compute features.
Specs, as published by Linode (Akamai Connected Cloud)
| Price | $5.00/mo — Nanode 1GB plan, 1 vCPU / 1GB RAM / 25GB SSD. Akamai's own pricing page states "Try Akamai Cloud with US$100 in credits" for new signups (separate promo terms apply). |
| vCPUs / RAM | 1 vCPU / 1GB RAM |
| Storage | 25GB SSD |
| Free trial credit | $100 |
| Root access | Not stated |
| DDoS protection | Not stated |
| Datacenter locations | ~25 named cities across North America, Europe, APAC, and South America (no single global total stated) |
Pros
- $100 free credit for new signups, the largest among providers here
- Broad, explicitly-named global datacenter footprint
- On-demand GPU instances available at the entry-level pricing page
- Backed by Akamai's global network infrastructure
Cons
- Root access isn't explicitly stated as a feature on the pricing page (though standard for this class of product)
- DDoS protection isn't bundled into compute pricing — offered only as a separate security product
- Slightly pricier entry tier than DigitalOcean or Vultr's cheapest offering
Best for: Teams that want a broad global footprint and GPU options without leaving the standard pricing page
Prices, plans, and features on this page are set by each provider and can change without notice — what's shown here reflects what was confirmed as of the date noted per provider, not necessarily today's live pricing. Always verify current details on the provider's own site before purchasing.