Kamatera Review

A true build-your-own-server configurator with the widest datacenter footprint here.

6.7/10
Good
Visit Kamatera

Kamatera lets you configure vCPU, RAM, and storage independently rather than picking from fixed bundles, billed hourly or monthly with no long-term contract — and states the broadest datacenter footprint in this comparison at 20 locations across the Americas, Europe, and Asia-Pacific.

It also offers a genuinely quantified free trial ($100 of service over 30 days), but its pricing page makes no explicit claim about root access or DDoS protection at all, unlike every other provider we cover.

Specs, as published by Kamatera

Price$4.00/mo — Entry "Type A" instance, 1 vCPU / 1GB RAM / 20GB NVMe SSD / 5TB traffic. Additional storage priced separately at $0.05/GB/month.
vCPUs / RAM1 vCPU / 1GB RAM
Storage20GB NVMe SSD
Free trial credit$100
Root accessNot stated
DDoS protectionNot stated
Datacenter locations20 datacenter locations across the Americas, Europe, and Asia-Pacific — the widest stated footprint in this comparison
Sourced from the provider's own published site, confirmed September 2026. Not independent testing.

Pros

  • Widest stated datacenter footprint in this comparison (20 locations)
  • Genuinely quantified free trial ($100 of service over 30 days)
  • NVMe storage at the entry tier
  • Fully configurable instance sizing rather than fixed bundles only

Cons

  • No explicit claim about root access anywhere on the pricing page
  • No explicit DDoS protection claim either
  • Additional storage is billed separately rather than bundled in larger increments

Best for: Users who want to configure exact vCPU/RAM/storage combinations and value a wide choice of locations

Prices, plans, and features on this page are set by each provider and can change without notice — what's shown here reflects what was confirmed as of the date noted per provider, not necessarily today's live pricing. Always verify current details on the provider's own site before purchasing.